Scam Alert: Hackers Don’t Actually Have Video of You Watching P0rn

A new scam making the rounds has cybercriminals trying to extort money from netizens by threatening to leak a video to friends and family of their marks watching X-rated videos. Here’s how it works.

A user gets an email from a crook who claims to have obtained, through hacking their computer, compromising webcam footage of them watching an adult website.  In reality, the user’s computer wasn’t hacked but rather the cybercriminal has simply purchased some passwords and email addresses on the Dark Web that likely originated on a hacked forum or site that the individual may frequent. Think a hobby or club-type forum.

The attacker’s message includes a reference that they have obtained all the user’s contacts including co-workers, friends, and family. And the clincher is that the extortion message shows the user’s actual password in an attempt to convince the reader that they need to pay up – or else.

The cybercriminal is banking on the target reusing their leaked password for other more important websites and being convinced that those accounts have been compromised as well. In reality, the attacker probably only has the one compromised password and is hoping for a quick payout.

If you receive this email, don’t panic and don’t send them any Bitcoin. There most likely isn’t any video. Change your password, don’t reuse any passwords that you use for important sites, and consider using two-factor authentication and a password manager to keep your accounts secure going forward.

And if you’re a company exec or IT pro, make sure your organization is monitoring the Dark Web for ID account compromises. That’s where cybercriminals are purchasing credentials for scams like this. Check out our Dark Web Guardian service that provides 24×7 monitoring for these types of compromises – 50% off a new 1-year subscription when purchased by August 31.

Everyone stay safe out there!


 

Author: Glenn Mores

President & CEO MicroData